This section provides useful information about staying in the UK after Brexit, applying for British citizenship, visas, asylum, trafficking and deportation.

The Citizens Advice information site is the best place to start looking for help and advice. Click the button below. 

Search below for contact details of organisations who may be able to help further.

Immigration

Service Contact number or website Description
Migrant Help 0808 801 0503  www.migranthelpuk.org 

Advice surrounding asylum applications

Child Law Advice (family and immigration) 0300 330 5480  childlawadvice.org.uk 
CVS Settlement 01270 763100  www.cvsce.org.uk 

Help with settlement applications

CWAC Settlement Service 0300 123 7037  www.cheshirewestandchester.gov.uk 

£14 for check and send style of service, settlement applications

Citizens Advice EU Settlement Rights 0300 3309 059  www.citizensadvice.org.uk 

Free advice by appointment on EU settlement queries

GMU Immigration Advice Unit 0161 740 7722  gmiau.org 

Advice/support for clients in the NW of England – either legal aid, or under fee waiver

Immigration Legal Advice Clinic 0113 366 2097  www.ilac.org.uk 

Based in Leeds, no free service but can help anyone in England with a variety of issues

GOV OISC Regulated Advisers home.oisc.gov.uk 

Nationwide list of free, and not free immigration advisers nationwide

CHAWREC 01244 400 730  www.chawrec.org.uk 

Free first consultation on immigration matters

Legal

Service Contact number or website Description
Law Society - Find a solicitor solicitors.lawsociety.org.uk 
Support Through Court 03000 810 006  www.supportthroughcourt.org 

Information, form-filling, company at hearings (Chester)

Law Works www.lawworks.org.uk 

List of free law clinics

Bereavement

Service Contact number or website Description
Tell us once www.gov.uk 
Bereavement Benefits 0800 731 0139  www.gov.uk 

Helpline for claims and issues

Bereavement Advice Centre 0800 634 9494  www.bereavementadvice.org 
Cruse 0151 645 6604  www.cruse.org.uk 

Advice on issues surrounding bereavement

Will Aid www.willaid.org.uk 

Contact for ‘cheap’ will assistance at the end of the year

Cullimore Dutton Solicitors 01244 729074  cullimoredutton.co.uk 

Free initial consultation on estates, trusts, and inheritance tax

Planning and Surveys

Service Contact number or website Description
RICS 024 7686 8555  www.rics.org 

Details for surveyors and links to 30 minutes of free boundary advice

Criminal

Service Contact number or website Description
BDH (Ellesmere Port) 0151 559 8441  www.bdhsolicitors.co.uk 

Help thorugh legal aid (potential free session)

Jacobs (Ellesmere Port) 0151 355 8481  www.jacobs-law.co.uk 

Help through legal aid (potential free session)

Russell and Russell (Chester) 01244 405733  russellrussell.co.uk 

Different number to family law. Help through legal aid

Nacro - Resettlement Advice Service 0300 123 1999  www.nacro.org.uk 

Advice and support for offenders/ex-offenders on many issues

Action Fraud 0300 123 2040  www.actionfraud.police.uk 

Fraud investigations

Unlock 01634 247 350  unlock.org.uk 

Advice for people facing barriers due to convictions

Victim Support 0808 1689 111  www.victimsupport.org.uk 

Support and guidance for crime victims

Court Services (Non-SSCS)

Service Contact number or website Description
Chester County Court 01244 404 200 
Chester Magistrates' Court 01244 405 790 

Community Links

Service Contact number or website Description
Cheshire's Natural Health Service naturalhealthservice.org.uk 

Outdoor community activities in nature

Drugs

Service Contact number or website Description
Frank 0300 123 6600  www.talktofrank.com 

Information about drugs, emotional and recovery guidance

Political

Service Contact number or website Description
Local councillors cmttpublic.cheshirewestandchester.gov.uk 
House of Commons 020 7219 3000 

Switchboard

MPs https://members.parliament.uk/constituencies/ 

Travellers

Service Contact number or website Description
Friends, Families and Travellers 01273 234 777  www.gypsy-traveller.org 

Advice around rights for travellers, multiple subjects

Education

Service Contact number or website Description
ACE 0300 0115 142  www.ace-ed.org.uk 

Advice on admissions, bullying, education and school-related issues

Child Law Advice (Education Line) 0300 330 5485  childlawadvice.org.uk 
National Careers Service 0800 100 900  nationalcareers.service.gov.uk 

Guidance on education and work options

UCAS www.ucas.com 

Guidance on upper levels of education, multiple numbers on this page for each level

Contact 0808 808 3555  contact.org.uk 

Advice on issues relating to disabled children

Dept for Education - Coronavirus Helpline 0800 046 8687 

For questions about education during the pandemic

Local Authority Special Education Needs Team 0151 337 6505  www.cheshirewestandchester.gov.uk 

For issues around supporti of disabled/LD children through education

Solicitors with free sessions

Service Contact number or website Description
Russell and Russell 0800 103 2600  russellrussell.co.uk 

Family

Freeman Jones 01244 893133  www.fjsolicitors.co.uk 

All

Oliver and Co 01244 312 306  www.oliverandco.co.uk 

10 minutes all subjects

Intime Solicitors 01244 220 063  intimeimmigration.co.uk 

Immigration

Setfords 0330 058 4011  www.setfords.co.uk 

Family, Employment

Jacobs 0151 355 8481  www.jacobs-law.co.uk 

Crime

BDH 0151 355 7171  www.bdhsolicitors.co.uk 

Crime

Salam Immigration 01244 344 577  salamimmigration.co.uk 

Immigration

Hunters 0333 444 5291  www.hunterlawyers.co.uk 

All

Cullimore Dutton 01244 729074  cullimoredutton.co.uk 

All

Chambers Fletcher 01606 780400  chambersfletcher.co.uk 

20 minutes all subjects

Susan Howarth 01606 48777  www.susanhowarthsolicitors.co.uk 

Family

Skip to content
Give feedback...